A Guest Post On Labelling And Judging

Today is a special day, Ladies and Gentlemen! I am honored to present you a guest post by a fellow Mind-Surfer Demifern19, the Author of the freshly pressed blog: Life from this Perspective. The post is about a very thought-provoking topic – we strive to be non-judgemental but there are always two sides of the same coin …

cherry-blossom


Judging

Short. That’s the first description that most people think of when they see me. We’re all labelled with things – some good some bad. But whether it’s seen as a compliment or as a flaw depends on us. For me being thought of as short isn’t a flaw but I don’t particularly like being highlighted as that.

Yes I’m short and I’m pretty sure that I’m aware of that. However most people don’t say that in a mean way, they just don’t see it as offensive. Therefore I have concluded that you cannot judge what a person says about you or someone else because what they think they’re saying vs what you hear are entirely different things. If I was to comment that someone has huge feet, they might feel self-conscious about it even if I only said it as an observation that fascinated me. So how do we get people to understand what we actually mean when we label them?

We can’t.Β 

Does that mean we should stop labelling altogether? In my personal view labelling isn’t nice and it’s basically like judging a book by its cover. Even if you’ve been friends with this person since you were 4 and think you know everything about them, you don’t. So any label you give them isn’t fact it’s just your opinion or perspective. Therefore you cannot just categorise people.

Nobody belongs to 1 specific category if you think about it. Someone who plays basketball isn’t just a basketball player and shouldn’t be defined by that 1 thing that is a part of them.

In school I remember we debated once about whether judging people was acceptable. Everyone will have different opinions on it and I’ve made mine pretty clear, but judging can actually save us. Before you talk to someone, you judge them on their appearance, body language and how they present themselves. Not their personality, feelings or morals. Some people can judge from appearance who is likely to be a bad influence and can steer clear of them. Judging may have just saved them from a horrible experience or trouble.

It can be frustrating to be labelled but unfortunately judging, labelling and categorising will never stop. It is one of those habits that society says isn’t a good thing but everyone still does it anyway. Β The message of this post: you can’t stop judging but you can think about how you’re judging others. Before you label them, think, “would I like to be judged in that way?”


My heartfelt thanks go to Demifern for creating such a wonderful post and allowing me to host it!

Now’s your turn guys and girls – Demi and I would love to hear your experiences on Judging and Being Judged, how do you deal with this and what’s your take on this topic?

28 thoughts on “A Guest Post On Labelling And Judging

  1. Being judged is never fun. I’ve been pretty lucky not to have been judged negatively (that I know of anyway) very much but there are a few things that have been a little bit of a road block… I have been judged on the job for being a girl in a men’s department and it made them uncomfortable. I have been judged as a Native American (sometimes by my own people) because I look white and am therefore viewed as either unworthy of learning OR not credible in sharing what I have learned.

    Those are things I can’t help. I have to I realize it, accept that some people will be that way, and keep pushing on. It is my opinion though that we shouldn’t judge people based on things they have no control over such as as height, gender or skin tone. However, it is ok to judge (to a small extent) based on their choices so long as we are still willing to give them a chance because @Demifern19 is right: Those quick assessments could save our life. It could also save theirs. If you see someone who looks sickly I don’t think they’re going to be mad at you for judging them if it’s you offering to call the Dr or take them in based on their appearance. They will probably appreciate the concern.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for the insightful comment! It is as you said: judging is a part of our mind we can never truly let go of. Much like fear. There are always two sides of the same coin. Sometimes fear and judging have negative consequences for us but they can also serve their purpose. Pretty much like every negative emotion there is.
      However other people judge us is out of our control but how we feel about it is compeletely under ours, we can’t be liked and accepted by everyone but the ones who do like us the way we are tend to become our friends.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Very true and practical problem.. Personally, I don’t want to judge by 1st appearance, but I have to do that to avoid future consequences as far as possible. And being judged? Well it’s not that I can enjoy criticism, but constructive criticism is something I believe good for my growth and rectifying my flaws.
    Very nice post as usual πŸ‘ πŸ˜€

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I totally agree that judging is an important aspect of our lives – similar to fear maybe. Society tells us it’s bad but we need it in order to stay out of trouble. Without fear and judging – how many of us would cross a busy highway? :D This post is written by Demifern, I just hosted it for them on their request. It’s a new blog, I think you could enjoy reading!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Of course I would like to visit Demifern.. A great post from a new blogger.. And you did a great job by hosting the post of a newbie πŸ‘πŸ‘

        Liked by 2 people

      1. You’re welcome – I also tried to comment on two of your posts but they didn’t show (I assume it’s the same thing that happened to me once before) go to your dashboard and check if the comments landed in the spam que, maybe you’ll find them there :D I wanted to say congrats to your successful blog and also wondered if I somehow missed the challenge question in your Cramm Award post.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad to see this post. We have almost the same take on this topic. I used to be overly conscious abt my appearance and every comment seems offensive to me but now that I’m a bit older and built confidence on me , I realize that some are just merely saying based on their observation. That “oh , what happened to your legs?” “Is that from accident?” “It looks different.” I took them(all) as non offensive and answer freely nowadays..even if some, still feels a bit awful.

    But I know that there are still people ..no matter what age they are still find comment offensive that’s why I’m super careful when dropping a comment.. I have a disclaimer opening remark of, “I’m sorry. I don’t mean anything but *insert comment* I asked this because *my reason*” if I don’t have reason aside from being curious..I shut up and pass itcause I know just how it feels to be “judge” .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When we’re young we want to fit in. Because brainless zombie kids are cruel and they attack in packs^^ but there are some who are genuinely curious to their own demise. What a pity, eh? I think people generally should be more careful about commenting on someone. Be it a comment on their appearance or anything else. Thank you for the insightful comment!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha.. Brainless zombie kids? Hahaha they are just kids ,new moon…they will sure get into their senses once they get older heheh..and yeah..I agree..We should really be careful abt.commenting.. :)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

