Is This Who You Are

silhouette of a woman in front of a lake reaching out to a firefly

I used to love personality tests just like everyone else. I mean, it’s fun and you get to know a little more about yourself, of course we love them! But at some point I stopped giving them so much attention. I still wanted to know myself better but the tests just wouldn’t cut it anymore. Today I think personality tests are a big, bad, evil trap.

They are an attempt to pinpoint a person’s character, isn’t that innocent, Moon?

No.

You see, I took the Myers Briggs test so many times, for instance. Leaving time to pass in between each attempt, of course. I still can’t tell you which one of those personalities I once was or am now. The result kept changing and I kept forgetting about it. I believe it’s a good sign – I am alive and I change. My answers vary, my views shift. I see people finding out their type and running around in circles ‘I’m this, I’m that – look at me, I know exactly who I am and this is how I see life and react to things’ As if they just found the perfect instruction, no, literally – a lifehack.

Why is it so satisfying?

There are 7.5 billion people in the world (apparently) – do you really think the 16 personality types on top of the classic Introvert/Extrovert joke could ever be enough to define us? It’s on the same level as believing that Earth is the only planet to contain life in this vast universe – just on a smaller scale.

It’s satisfying because it’s an easy way out. You want to know more about yourself? Oh, I’ve designed a test for that. I’m an expert I know every person in this world, boohoohoohoo! You’ll never be the same after completing the test – you’re in for a treat! Indeed.

Who designed the personality tests? Was it some sort of divine being? God? Some Eternal Sage, an Angel, a Prophet? No? It was a person! A person you say?! Just like you and me? No? An expert? Oh, experts – they sure are all-knowing. Bow down in awe.

There is no shortcut to knowing yourself. It actually takes effort and genuine interest to see who you really are. A silly little test might blow you away with some accuracy in its generic ramble – read another result and you’ll find your traits in them, too! Who’d expect that?! If you’re genuinely interested in knowing and understanding who you are and what makes you you – I think you will find the time and strength to deal with whatever it is that’s going on inside your little head, vast mind and deep heart. Good luck.

-★-

16 thoughts on “Is This Who You Are

  1. Exactly.. If you want to know yourself, evaluate yourself, explore yourself, analyse yourself. These tests are nothing but a shortcut, rather half truth at most.
    As usual bang on target post 👍 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Personality test? I think it’s helpful for leaders and management team as it would give them a bit of information about their team..”a bit of info” doesn’t mean that they should rely on them 100% but they could use it on their advantage..

    And in individual case..you can expect changes in result as you change your surrounding and day to day task..thats why I dont give a damn on whoever said that “this is me according to..you can’t change me.” Because..hey! Change is constant.

    I’m not saying that personality test is 100%accurate.. I say, they have flaws and have atlease 5 to 10% doubtful result..but just like anything else that produced by man(medicine, machine, process flow and etc)..we can use it for good..if we choose to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hoped someone would consider the personality tests done during the assessment phase of a job interview for example (in some countries at least)! Which still are a big pile of you know what. Because a personality test done for a job never is genuine. (Be it consciously or unconsciously – people alter their answers in order to seem suitable and please their ‘overlords’) Change indeed is constant and it’s great if you can use the tests for something good. But do you remember the result of the last test you took and did you make some lasting changes based on that – did you ever succeed in what you say they could be good for? I am aware that they can be used constructively but who in the world takes the time and effort to make genuine changes based on a test result?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never done a personality test xD they always seemed like shit to me. Like. How the hell is a test gonna tell me anything about me? I know me more than the test does.
    I really wanna get to know myself better though. Gotta do something about that.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I don’t like all these tests because they usually depress my friends saying some random stuff about them that they believe is true. At least that used to happen a few years ago.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. that’s the thing: they are prewritten articles, it’s entirely possible to recongize ourselves in the description but there are always parts that are just not true or feel wrong. Some people might try to become like this as a result^^

        Liked by 1 person

  4. A cute guide to find your real self! 👌
    I never actually believed in personality tests.. cause sometimes if you put in the same exact answers at two different times…You’ll get completely contrasting results!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

