Being Human

Part of being human is knowing fear. No matter how much people might argue that it is necessary for our survival – no one can argue against the fact that fear is of more than just one type. There is this ugly mental fear (thoughts, overthinking) vs the quite useful physical fear (feeling, the adrenalin rush). Physical fear can save lives in dangerous situations yet mental fear slowly destroys them from the inside out.

The key is not to be fearless, but to understand fear and where it comes from. Befriend it.

I used to have anxiety issues for a few years. Believe it or not, I still had them a few weeks ago. My anxiety problems began as soon as I wasn’t able to meet other people’s expectations. The disapproval of my personal decisions from closed ones had a tremendous impact on my inner world because I allowed it to. However, fate is such a funny thing. It doesn’t care about petty feelings. The way we feel about ourselves and others is purely our choice. Fate is very well aware of that. It doesn’t care about what people think is the best thing, it only cares about the right thing. And the right thing it will be.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not the type to worship fate, I am a firm believer that we are not victims of circumstance, by any chance, I would rather say fate is what we make it, yet … some things are predestined.

Both time and energy play a big part when it comes to anxiety issues. We might think we don’t have enough time to do all the things we want to do in life, or that things don’t go fast enough. We begin to lose faith, to feel stuck, we start to doubt ourselves and our path. The thing is that in most cases we have too much time on our hands with no suitable outlet for our energy to flow into. So we roam the realm of possibilities.

We begin thinking about the how’s and when’s wanting to control how things will enter our life, how we will achieve this and that – and because energy not invested positively turns foul and bitter – we get caught up in terrible thought chains within a matter of seconds. The final hit is when things don’t go the way we expected them to. Because this rarely happens. We feel like we lose our ground because we thought our plans were flawless. And if our plans didn’t work, what will?

girl portrait

The key to getting rid of crippling fear is learning to trust in something bigger than ourselves and move out of our way. We need to understand that we are not supposed to plan out every step of our journey. Our job is to make a decision and be clear on our goals. Let the universe handle the rest and enjoy the process. If life was all about goals and results – when and what would we learn in the meantime? Where’s room for personal growth in that scheme?

My anxiety issues declined gradually once I found a suitable outlet for my energy. I don’t have so much time to overthink anymore, I have something to look forward to because my energy is actually flowing somewhere. I learned to let go of wanting things my way and wanting them now. I understood the importance of self-exploration. And I am not anxious to experiment and try things out anymore because I finally gave up on perfection.

✦✦✦

37 thoughts on “Being Human

  1. I have to say, reading this made me cheer! It’s very nice of you to share your understanding of fear with us as well as your personal experiences with anxiety and how you overcome these feelings. Very inspiring for those of us that may have similar experiences Thank you! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what I hoped to achieve with this post! It’s always a good idea to share what we’ve learned from our experiences. Of course we all make different experiences and we deal with situations in different ways but it never hurts to share – you never know whom it might be of help to. Thank you for taking the time to read this one – the post turned out so much longer than originally intended haha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Everyone feels fear, it’s how they respond that either moves them forward, freezes them or pushes them back. Understanding fear, and finding a way to do what needs be done regardless of the fear… well that’s hero stuff there… and we can all be that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Handling expectations is a tough job. It’s 100% true that things will never go according to plan. Breaking down at that moment is the most common thing we all face.
    I myself went through a phase where I was struggling to face the truth because I perceived the truth otherwise. I dealt with it alone. I am still dealing. We all do.
    But the thing is I believe like you said, our plans are not flawless. All we have to do is work diligently towards the goal, never expect the outcome and have confidence on yourself.
    Great thoughts 😊😊 keep writing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and experiences. I’m happy to see someone relates to this! We might think we need others to approve of our goals and plans but really, we only need our own approval and the belief in ourselves in order to persevere! You’re an inspiration, Nemo!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 😊 I am nothing Moon. Just a common person trying to live and be a proper human being. We all handle tough situations in life, don’t we? Or you couldn’t have written this article 😊. Your readers are so glad to get such an inspiring article from you 😊
        Thanks for writing this πŸ’πŸ’

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well, things would get boring without challenges and such. We wouldn’t be able to learn and grow without ever facing difficulties! Thank you so much for the warm words – I am glad to have a blogging buddy like you!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Very true.. Life won’t be life without challenges !!
        Oh I am glad to get you in my buddy list as well !! 😊 You are one of my very first readers and have appreciated me throughout my journey here πŸ˜ŠπŸ’πŸ’

        Liked by 1 person

      4. haha thank you so much for the love and appreciation – supporting fellow bloggers is what makes this whole thing so much more fun! You can actually get into some meaningful conversations or get inspired by their posts!

        Liked by 2 people

      5. Haha.. true… And that’s why I prefer blogging than FB because in FB you have got friends who will just praise you in any case. But here you get actual thoughts and opinions which broadens your thought as well and helps you to discover yourself!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t know being super human is always good but yes doing things fearless can make a huge difference in way of life. That’s only possible I suppose if you are true and honest because a person with wrong intention can’t be fearless.

    Great and commendable post!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That makes sense. But fear is also the reason they’ll get caught eventually. Maybe there are some people or whole organizations out there who are not afraid to get caught and nobody is aware of them… That’s some thriller material right there! Look, you’re an inspiration!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I am glad this was your outlet cos not only are you helping yourself but in one way or another you are helping someone else become fearless.. I enjoyed this reading NewMoonPlan πŸ’˜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hahaha I love the fact you said this right now – “you are helping someone else become fearless”. I guess it’s always a good idea to share what we’ve learned from our experiences with others! I am very glad you enjoyed it! :D

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Simply awsome…this is something…everyone should read n realise …the perfection is a process …not an all time companion…!
    Loved this blog of yours…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you for sharing. I am still working towards the ability to release my anxiety in some way. Hopefully my blog will help me in the same way it helped you. My mind always runs, hopefully I can find the ability to be present and not worry about the past or future.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Very well said and excellent points! Anxiety can be so hard. Its so easy to get distracted or sidetracked. Trusting in a Power greater than myself and aiming toward a preferred objective … even if that’s simply peace … has surely been a big help to me! Thanks so much for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

