Just A Story #3 – Feather

Just A Story #1 – Paine

“I’ll come over in a few minutes, Paine. I need some fresh air.” The truth is that I need to calm my mind before I can face our guest. I’m not myself ever since that night – did I really … ? “Understood~” Paine walks a few steps backwards before turning around and disappearing from my sight in elegance. Shouldn’t I be terrified of heights? Yet the terrace is my favorite place. It’s windy outside. The dark clouds are moving fast over my head, they seem too close. I wonder what’s so urgent, it is unusual for Ed to come over this late. We were going to visit the lab tomorrow morning anyway.

During the last 3 months I’ve been working with Ed, attempting to recover my memories. He served as my private doctor until I went from being the daughter of Alltheia’s representative to literally, Ms. Nobody. No one remembers me, I’ve seen my friends – I actually walked past them yet no one even bothers to look twice at me. Isn’t that the life I always wished for? I am as free as a bird now. Why do I need to know what happened, I could just take the life I was given and do whatever I want.

No, the reason I’m in this is because I want to know the truth. If it wasn’t for Ed I’d have no place to go to. Paine gave up her position in the lab just to keep an eye on me. But I don’t understand … why are Ed and Paine the only people in this god-damned city who still remember me? I’m not a ghost, or am I? Their involvement in my death is out of question – yet they are set to help me discover the truth by myself.

The wind gets colder as I catch a single feather gliding through the air from the corner of my eye. “Huh?” This feather … my body moves on its own I … I have to pick it up! It’s the feather from my dream last night. I keep seeing it over and over again! No, this can’t be … The dream … I can’t be sleeping! Quickly Erin, you have to look at his face, come on. My head hurts, I feel dizzy – as I let myself fall on the cold floor I watch the dream unfold in front of my inner eye. Within a moment – I find myself at the top of a high building – within a moment – I cling to the papers in my hands, this man … I have to see his face! He … he killed me! Echoing whispers run through my mind as I feel the shockwave hitting my chest. Time slows down as I fall off the edge, watching the magnificent winged being hovering over the building. I am nothing but a feather gliding through the air. “Erin White, you’re in my way.”

falling

To be continued…

Previous: Part 2 – Memories

Next: Part 4 – Time

13 thoughts on “Just A Story #3 – Feather

  1. Dude, write a book. You’ll become a millionaireeeee.
    And when you do, don’t forget me please? :P
    Invite me to lunch or something, I’d like to have lunch with a millionaire and click pics and show off at least a few times in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

