Just A Story #4 – Time

How it began: Part 1 – Paine

rain

The cold drops falling on my face bring me back to reality. I must get back inside before the rain comes down stronger. Moving my body proves to be a difficult task. Have I put on weight? I smirk – can’t believe I’m being edgy after just remembering what had happened to me. No … it’s not the first time I’ve seen this scene. I’m disappointed in myself because – once again – I’ve missed his face. Why are the most important memories always the blurriest?

‘Paine!’ I roar across the living room. If only I had closed the glass door, so I wouldn’t have to scream against the howling wind… No time for that. ‘I remember! It was a winged man!’ Both, Paine and Ed storm into the room. ‘What did you say?’ she asks me with a confused look on her face as she heads to close the door leading to the terrace. ‘Here, it was a winged man who killed me.’ My voice fails me as I hold up the feather. In this dark room it seems to glow a little. ‘Let me take a closer look.’ Paine takes a step towards me as a lightning strike reveals her stern facial expression.

After a closer inspection the feather disintegrates to glowing particles right in Paine’s hand – this sight reminds me of hot ashes. What is going on? Her eyes wander off towards Ed ‘We’re out of time, Chronos. They’re here!’ The latter part sounded like a secret code for a specific plan of action, as they both nodded towards each other. I don’t understand the weird bond between them while they understand each other without speaking. Paine puts on her coat and storms out of the apartment. My already racing heart jumps as I feel someone gripping my arm.

What a relief it is to see Ed’s smiling face, I suddenly feel very at peace. ‘Erin, please wait at the car. I’ll be with you shortly.’ He walks me towards the elevator and presses the 0 as soon as the door opens. However, something doesn’t feel quite right – what was that eery glow in Ed’s eyes barely visible through the slit of the closing doors? Maybe it’s just my imagination. He’s always been mysterious.

Oh, this doesn’t look good at all! How I wish Paine was with me now, how could she leave me here like that! What is happening – am I in danger? Why didn’t they tell me… out of time… the heck does that even mean!? The fog of thoughts thickens as I feel an alarming presence creeping in through the walls. The air gets colder. I close my eyes, this can’t be real. Ding! The elevator door opens and I step into the empty reception hall. It’s so quiet as if time itself had stopped. Where is everyone? My own steps sound like thunder as I run towards the main entrance – I can see a car in front of it.

The street noise goes off as I open the door – looking back, I can see and hear people at the reception behind me. What? As I turn towards the street again, I see Ed waiting in front of the car. ‘Ed?! … How did you…?’

To be continued…

Previous: Part 3 – Feather

Next: Part 5 – Archangel

19 thoughts on “Just A Story #4 – Time

      1. Can you please somehow, telepathically perhaps, tell me all of your stories? Pretty please?
        Patience is something that i have in abundance usually but when it comes to stories like these, I can’t wait. :/

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m quite busy today thinking about what to do with the story… there’s much on my mind when it comes to it but I’m not sure if it’s a good idea to update it weekly like this. I wrote bite-sized updates because it always took me much longer to write out what I see. But maybe it’d make more sense to write bigger parts. What do you think, Ket?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Nah. It makes sense this way too. I love the short “bite-sized” updates and even though I hate to accept this, it makes me even more eager to know what will happen less.
        “The lesser you give them, the more they’ll want”
        But its not like a bigger piece of story would ruin anything.

        If I were you and I had to choose, I’d go with the smaller posts. Why? Because you’re spending a good amount of your energy and brain power on a small part and because of that the story becomes really freaking good. You’re paying attention to the tiniest details and that, I think, is the best way of telling a story.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. thank you, Ket. Yeah that makes sense…however I wonder if a new reader steps in and sees “Just a story part 14” – will they ever even bother to check out #1? xD

        Liked by 1 person

      5. If he reads part 14, I’m pretty sure he’ll wanna know how all this started. I can make a suggestion though. Make a page which has an index and put a link to the index in every part! :D

        I’m pretty sure people will wanna read every single part of your story. Seriously, its SO freaking good.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I’ve never even got that idea. All I could come up with is to pin the category to the menu and put part 1 at the top of every post. But your idea actually leaves room for a short introduction to the story and maybe the characters, too. Your suggestion really helped me! Thank you :) Man, I got so much on my hands lately I have to see if I can publish the new part tomorrow…this thing might unintentionally become the highlight of the blog. I don’t know if it’s worth it.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I don’t know Moon. I love the story but i love your other posts too. Every single post of yours has so much meaning, it changes our lives in one way or another. Your words are the only thing that highlights your blog
        Besides, if, for some reason, it does become the highlight of your blog, I’m sure all this is worth it. People would be like “Hey do you know Moon? From NewMoonPlan? Yes. Her stories are so freaking good. You should go and subscribe to her newsletter today!!”

        Liked by 1 person

      8. LOL that’s cute of you to say. Thank you for the encouragement and support, Ket! I’ve been blogging for 2 months now and I have to say I’d never think my outlook and idea of this blog would change so much. Currently I’m a bit stumped in regards of where I want to take this blog and what I want to do with it. I’ve had a similar phase around a month ago but then RL stuff got a bit chaotic, I wasn’t able to stick to my planned schedule. So things are a bit weird atm

        Liked by 1 person

      9. You know, no one’s gonna believe you when you say you’ve been blogging for only 2 months xD You’re so good at it. I just cant think of anything to write about and when I do, and if I start and don’t finish it, I don’t feel like writing about it ever again. xD I have around 60 drafts right now but I just cant continue with those.
        You actually have plans, Moon. That’s so cool :’) NewMoonPlan. Its perfect :D

        Liked by 1 person

      10. haha I always avoid having drafts for the same reason as you – chances are that I won’t finish them. Believe it or not I don’t have a single one! It’s all or nothing xD

        Liked by 1 person

      11. Ikr! Its better not to keep drafts because well. You’re never gonna wanna continue it. But I don’t feel like deleting them either. It has so many of my feelings of that time. Idk. Some sort of attachment I have with them

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

